Introducing Rae Morris

I’m really excited about rising talent Rae Morris. The 18-year-old singer-songwriter is from Blackpool, UK. She has a rawly intimate but easily accessible voice like that of Missy Higgins. Her beyond-her-age songwriting chops remind me of up-and-comer Kelsey Wild from Rockford, IL. I see Morris’ trajectory following something like Wild’s – working her way through university but continuing to write and gig and release an EP here or there.

  
“Day One” is a beautiful ballad that humbly acknowledges her age and what she still has ahead of her with lyrics like: “I am aware that nothing I do could prepare me for knowing I may lose this someday soon.”

 
“Did I Ever” is my other favorite.

 
Lastly, I recommend “Oldest of New”. It’s just a lovely song about love and support that again betrays a wisdom and inexperience at the same time: “the future really scares me”.

Unfortunately, Morris is so new that none of her stuff is available on iTunes yet. You’ll just have to content yourself with SoundCloud and Myspace.

  
One last impression to leave you with is this interview she did with “Acoustic Juice”. She is very soft-spoken and shy and I was surprised that such musical soul came from this little thing. As one of the concert-goers in the video says, “I don’t think she knows how good she is.”

Also, she only just started writing last September-ish! Wow! You go girl!