Coldplay’s Fifth Album Influences

https://i0.wp.com/coldplay.com/uploads/119photo1.jpg

Coldplaying.com‘s current poll is “Who or what will have the biggest influence on Coldplay’s fifth album?” I thought the question was a little lame but the choices are really interesting. So here are my thoughts on them …

Solar system: At the beginning of April, Chris Martin gave Roadie #42 a mysterious job to build a solar system … or at least a model of one. What does it mean? Is the fifth album going to have a big, bold, “out of this world” sound? If not sound, then what about big emotions? Or how about a concept album about planets? No – I’ve got it – recording in space? Ok, now I’m just getting absurd. It certainly sounds like the solar system / universe is going to influence the band (or maybe just Chris) is some way but I don’t really have a clue how. But I’m excited to find out.

EMI / label pressure Honestly, EMI is not going to last more than another year. I mean, they’ve already lost the Rolling Stones and Paul McCartney and now Queen. I don’t think the failures at EMI will musically influence Coldplay and in terms of pressuring the band, the label is not in a strong enough position to force anything.

Brian Eno: Yeah, I’d say Eno is going to continue to influence Coldplay. The superstar producer who worked on Viva La Vida is back and working on the fifth album. I’m sure he’s still going to be pushing the limits of what the band can create. Eno is all about getting the musicians he works with to try new things (from hypnosis, to recording in anti gravity, to secluding band members from one another) and see what comes out. You can’t try new things and not be influenced by them (or the experience of trying them).

New studio (The Beehive): Back in November, Roadie #42 described Coldplay’s new home The Beehive: “Everywhere you go there’s light streaming in. Even on a relatively gloomy British afternoon, it’s noticeably bright inside. I can only imagine that this will be reflected in the new material.” That pretty much sums it up but I just want to add that any relocation from one place to another has an affect on a person. You are leaving something behind that probably has strong sentimental value to it but you are looking forward to something new and exciting. We also think differently in different spaces.

Recording restrictions (acoustic/amplification): In a February Guy Berryman told Brazilian outlet Terra, “We’re working on a new album that is more acoustic, organic. Not want to sound small. We want great, but we have some limitations, you know. In the manner of recording, the equipment we use… For now, we are only using acoustic instruments and very little amplification. It sounded very good. We do not know where this is going. But we have many things written and we are well pleased with what we’ve done so far.” I don’t think we’re going to get a totally acoustic album from Coldplay but I do think they are definitely headed toward more intimacy with fans (more on that in a minute).

Joe Satriani affair: When I first heard about this plagiarism case last year I blew it off. Eventually, though, I went on YouTube and listened to Joe Satriani’s “If I Could Fly” to compare it to Coldplay’s “Viva La Vida.” It was an interesting experience I was so skeptical until the guitar riff and then I just couldn’t believe how similar they sounded! I don’t believe Coldplay plagiarized but the whole affair did hit them pretty hard. When this sort of accusation is made, you can be limited by it and live in fear of writing something that sounds too much like something else that’s already been written or you can be inspired to keep writing good music that everyone wants to claim they’ve written. I definitely think this incident will make the band more determined to make great music.

Intimacy with fans: I’ve complained about this before and I seriously hope that this is the biggest influence on their fifth album. My post from three months ago contained my musings on whether a “Personal Coldplay” was possible. I explained that their music has been very special in my life but that at the same time, I hate seeing them live because they always perform in huge stadiums where there is absolutely nothing personal about the whole experience. I don’t know that a Personal Coldplay is even possible given how popular they are, but I like that they recognize the very issue that’s been bothering me and are trying to do something about it: “Frontman Chris Martin is concerned the band are being seen as a huge stadium act and totally inaccessible for their loyal fans.”

Latin America: Yes, they did debut “Spanish Rain” in Argentina a few months ago and I loved it but something tells me its going to be a fixture in live shows and not on an album. Besides, Latin America was Viva La Vida‘s thing.

Agree? Disagree?What do you think about all these possible influences?

Addendum: If you made it through all that, be sure to check out my follow-up post about Coldplay Peru!